Browse Music

Samael is a industrial black metal band formed in 1987 in Sion, Switzerland.


Although much of their music from the mid-1990s onwards has incorporated electronic sounds which would best define their genre as industrial metal, they are an early 2nd Wave black metal band and an innovator for post-black metal styles.

Samael released Their first album Worship Him in 1991 on French record label Osmose Productions the following year they sign a multi records deal with Century Media Records and release their second album Blood Ritual

Early 1994 their 3rd album Ceremony of Opposites is on the market. Their music is now oriented toward industrial-sounds with addition of keyboards and use of samples.

Their album Passage (1996) saw them gather a larger audience, with the music video for the song "Jupiterian Vibe" getting airplay on MTV's Headbanger's Ball. A second edition was later released with a bonus disk, done solely by keyboardist Xy and titled "Xytras," containing 10 entirely instrumental remixes featuring classical piano.

After the release of Eternal - recorded and mixed in Mountain studio by David Richard (1999), Samael would not renew their contract with Century Media.

In 2004, Reign of Light was released through the band's own imprint Galactical Records. Two single will be taken from that album "Telepath" - from which a video clip was shoot and "On Earth" - including a cover from Depeche Mode's "I Feel You".

In 2006, the electronica project Era One (featuring Vorph and Xy) was released on Century Media Records. It includes a bonus disc, "Lesson in Magic #1," which again is entirely instrumental and done by keyboardist Xy. The album itself was recorded in 2001, and the bonus disc a year later. Both were rearranged and remixed in 2005.

In June 2007 they released the album Solar Soul, with songs as "Solar Soul", "Slavocracy" or "AVE!" it summed up and combined many of the styles of their previous albums since Passage.

On March 6, 2009, Samael released Above, a full-length album described as a tribute to Samael's roots.

In June 2010 Samael began recording demos for the next album. The album's first single, titled Antigod was released on November 19, 2010. The album, titled Lux Mundi (which translates as "Light of the World"), was released April 29, 2011 in Europe and May 3, 2011 in North America. The same month they shoot a video clip for the song "Luxferre" in Sweden with director Patric Ulaeus.


Vorphalack (Vorph) - Vocals, Guitar (since 1987),

Xytras/Xytraguptor (Xy) - Live and Programmed Drums, Keyboards, Samples (since 1988),

Masmiseim (Mas) - Bass (ex-Alastis) (since 1991),

Makro (Mak) - Guitar (since 2002),

Vorph and Xy are brothers.

In earlier original album credits Xy was to as "Xytras," not "Xytraguptor." On the band's official about page, they give mixed references using all 3 monikers, Xy, Xytras, and Xytraguptor.

Former members:

Rodolphe H. -- Keyboards & Samples on Ceremony of Opposites and Rebellion.,

Kaos (Frédéric Minuti) -- Guitar on Passage, Exodus and Eternal,

Pat Charvet -- Drums (1987-1988)